One Day More

I distinctly remember that as a kid, I used to sing along to all the Disney Princesses’ songs. I even used our towels as a pretend magic carpet ride while singing “A Whole New World” with one of my childhood friends. It was, however, a school musical production which sparked my interest in music the most. Enough to make me decide to let go of the ballet lessons which I was so intent on enrolling in.

This musical was PWC Teatro Dabawenyo’s production of Les Miserables. Since then, everything seemed to fall into place. Songspell was born and the rest as they say is history!

I was just in the second grade, 8 years old, when we auditioned for the play. My audition piece was “Somewhere Out There” from The American Tale. It was the following year when the play was realized. So…in light of the movie that’s coming out this year (which I am super psyched about!) AND just because I wanted to make kwento, here are some prints which I took photos of so you can see.

Gala Tickets, Programme and Collaterals

I played the little Cosette, and this was taken during one of our dress rehearsals, hence the straight hair. I had one song to perform and it was “Castle on a Cloud”. However, I remember I memorized all the songs from top to bottom and sang along while other people were rehearsing. My favorites would have to be adult Cossette’s “In My Life”, Fantine’s “I Dreamed a Dream”, Eponine’s “On My Own” and of course, “One Day More” featuring the entire cast.

This was the scene when Jean Valjean aka Kuya Fritz was about to take Cossette from the cruel Thenardiers. I was a kid without a single know-how about acting, and all of this was like playtime to me. What was more fun was the behind-the-scenes of it all. When us kids would play in the backstage while the adults were performing on stage!

Here’s a photo from the backstage, during the opening night (I think). See my hair? It took a whole lot of hair pins and hair spray for it to stay that way. I recall even having to endure beer-smelling hair on the third night since they said beer helps keep hair curly, so my hair was dipped in beer!

I am so thankful to have been chosen to be part of this production, because this is where I found my love for singing. Just this afternoon, my Mom, sister and I watched the 10th Anniversary Concert DVD and it still gives me goosebumps. Best Cast in my opinion. And as I mentioned, I’m pretty excited for the movie to come out already. Even the trailer sends chills down my spine. So for those of you who haven’t seen it yet, here it is!

❀

Kia

5 thoughts on “One Day More

  1. hi Kia,
    im not sure if you remember me. i used to sing with the himig singers, i taught at pwc hs dept., i played enjolras when we did les mis at central bank… by the way. i saw your blog while browsing staff about les mis, and i wonder if there’s any way you can post more pics from the show? if you still have them. im also on facebook as “Bong Noel”.

    thanks.

    noel

Leave a Reply

